Grilled Cauliflower and Yellow Squash

Happy Monday, everyone! How was your weekend? Mine was FANTASTIC! I was on Spring Break last Wednesday through Friday, and my 28th birthday was on Thursday, so I spent the last five days eating good food, hanging out with wonderful people, and enjoying the beautiful spring weather. Here are a few of the highlights…well, food highlights, anyway.

IMG_4180

Oh My, Spaghetti Pie from Old Chicago…my birthday dinner for the last three years!

IMG_4192

Baked Pretzels at The Barrel House

IMG_4195

Firecracker Shrimp Tacos and Chips at The Barrel House

Martinis with my sisters!

I’m so bummed that my awesome weekend had to come to an end, but I’m so grateful that I got to spend it the way I did….and that I only gained 2 pounds.

With the weather being unbelievably nice the past week, I’ve been a grilling fiend. Twice in six days! My mom and dad used to always grill potatoes with butter and onions, so I decided to try cauliflower and yellow squash to see if it’d be as good. It was. It REALLY was.

Grilled Cauliflower and Yellow Squash

   IMG_4118

What I’m Listening to: the new episode of “Once Upon a Time”

Ingredients (makes 2 servings)

-1 medium yellow squash, sliced (I cut the big pieces in halves or quarters)

-1 head cauliflower, stems removed and cut into small pieces

-1/4 yellow onion, diced

-3 tbsp butter, cut into small pieces

-Salt and pepper

-3 large pieces of aluminum foil

Wash and cut up all the vegetables. Lay two pieces of the foil on top of each other. Scoop the veggies into the center of the foil. Drop the butter chunks evenly over the vegetables; season generously with salt and pepper. Fold the foil into a pouch, using the third piece to secure any open spots. Flatten the pouch into a disc.

Cook on a hot charcoal grill for 30-40 minutes, turning every 5-7 minutes. Serve with brats or hot dogs.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For all the latest at Table for One

Facebook            Instagram            Pinterest             Twitter

Show me what you’re making by using #stephstableforone on Twitter and Instagram!

*All material is property of “Table for One”*

Leave a Reply

