Fajita-Style Bratwursts with Chipotle Mayo

Happy Hump Day! Since it’s my Spring Break this week and my birthday is tomorrow, I thought I’d do a bonus post!  Yes, this lady is going to be 28 tomorrow. I’m excited to have the day off from work, although I don’t have a lot planned. I do want to sleep in, before getting a massage and having dinner with my friends. But that’s it. My family is coming to visit over the weekend, so I’m pretty excited about that too! My biggest concern right now is my birthday dessert. I can’t decide what I should make…any suggestions?

I get asked sometimes where I come up with my recipes. To be honest, I take a lot of inspiration from the people in my life, or from other bloggers I follow. I also spend a ton of time experimenting in my kitchen. But sometimes, I’m making my grocery list and I think to myself, “hey, I should try brats with fajita veggies” and thus, a new recipe is born. That’s what happened with this one. You’re welcome.

Fajita-Style Bratwursts with Chipotle Mayo

 FullSizeRender (64)

What I’m Listening to: “How I Met Your Mother” season 7

Ingredients (makes 2 bratwursts)

-2 bratwursts of your choice

-2 brat buns

-1/4 onion, sliced

-1/4 red pepper, sliced

-1/4 yellow pepper, sliced

-2 tsp vegetable oil

-1/8 tsp oregano

-1/8 tsp chili powder

-1/2 cup mayo

-1/2 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce

Place the mayo and 1/2 chipotle pepper in a blender or food processor. Blend well. Place in the refrigerator until you are ready to use it.

While you cook the brats (I grilled mine, but you can boil them too!), place the vegetable oil in a small skillet. Heat over medium-low heat until warm. Add the peppers and onion; stir to coat. Sprinkle the oregano and chili powder over the vegetables and stir. Cook for 4-5 minutes, until hot and crisp. Remove the pan from the heat.

Put the cooked bratwursts in buns, topping with the vegetables. Drizzle the chipotle mayo over the top. Serve hot, with a side of vegetables.

FullSizeRender (65)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For all the latest at Table for One

Facebook            Instagram            Pinterest             Twitter

Show me what you’re making by using #stephstableforone on Twitter and Instagram!

*All material is property of “Table for One”*

Leave a Reply

