Spinach and Bacon Alfredo

I’m sure by now you’ve all seen the Great Dress Debate of 2015. I swear, that dress has been EVERYWHERE the last 24 hours. All over my Facebook newsfeed. All over Instagram. All over the news. I walked into rehearsal tonight for a show I’m choreographing and one kid yelled across the room, “Steph, what color is the dress?” and I knew EXACTLY what he was talking about. For the record, it started out gold and white for me, and then changed color while I was looking at it. I’m not kidding. It freaked me out a little bit…I’m having some trust issues.

Now, if I was really on the ball, I would have segued into some cute “white and gold/black and blue” dessert…but it’s Friday, and that’s just too much work for my brain to handle today. So, instead, you get this AWESOME pasta that I love to throw into my weekly dinner rotation. Now, most of the time, I’m a plain alfredo girl. Throw a little salt and pepper on top, and I’m a happy clam. But, occasionally, I want a variation. I know chicken alfredo is the standard, but I think my Spinach and Bacon Alfredo is more fun. And, obviously more healthy, since it’s got a vegetable in it. Right? RIGHT?!

Spinach and Bacon Alfredo

FullSizeRender (50)

What I’m Listening to: “Sugar” by Maroon 5

Ingredients (makes 2 servings)

-1/4 box of fettuccine, or your favorite long pasta

-Olive oil

-1/4 pound of bacon (Get it fresh at the meat counter…mine was $1!)

-2 tbsp butter

-1/2 cup heavy cream

-2 cloves (or 1 tsp) minced garlic

-3/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese

-1/4 cup cooked spinach

-Salt and pepper, to taste

Fill a medium saucepan 2/3 full of water, and bring to a boil. While the water is heating, cook the bacon in a small skillet until crispy on both sides. Transfer the bacon to a paper towel lined bowl to cool. When the water begins to boil, add the fettucine and cook according to the package directions.

In a separate saucepan, melt the butter. Add the heavy cream and bring to a boil. Turn the heat down to medium, and simmer for 4-5 minutes, until the mixture begins to thicken. Add the garlic and parmesan cheese; whisk quickly. Remove from the heat and add the spinach. Crumble the bacon into small pieces over the top and mix well.

Drain the pasta when done and return back to its original pan. Pour the alfredo sauce over the top and toss to coat. Serve with garlic bread and a small salad.

*Note: I used frozen spinach and cooked it while I was frying the bacon. You could also use raw baby spinach, and saute it with some olive oil, or the bacon grease, if you’d prefer.

FullSizeRender (51)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out Table for One

Facebook                Instagram

Pinterest                  Twitter

Leave a Reply

