One Pot Chicken and Vegetable Risotto

Oh friends, I am exhausted. Yes, it’s late on Thursday night and I’m frantically trying to finish this post before I go to bed, but it’s been a CRAZY two weeks. (Hence the lack of posting. I’m sorry! I promise I’m back in the game now…I also promise to use the word “hence” more often.) We had our big dance fundraiser last weekend, which meant I’ve spent the better part of February eating, sleeping, and breathing work. It’s a really fun fundraiser, and I love working on it, but even when I’m at home, I’m thinking about it, over-analyzing what we’ve done and what we’ve forgotten to do. A blessing and a curse. Anyway, it’s over now, and I’m slowly recovering…although my feet still hurt from my six hours in heels. Never, ever wear heels. Ever.

In other news, it’s still freezing here in Iowa. I am trying everything I can think of to “think spring,” including using obscene amounts of spring vegetables in my cooking. I’ve made this risotto twice in the last week, hoping it would magical lead to green grass and light spring rain, but alas, no luck. On the plus side, I did get to eat risotto twice in one week!

I have to admit that risotto scared me for awhile. I tried to make a tomato cream risotto a few years ago, and I remember it looked like pink goop and smelled like garbage. Mmm. So, I put risotto on the back burner until last month, when I decided to give it a whirl. This time, it went well. Very, very well! I love it because a) you only dirty one pot, b) it seems fancy, but it’s not, and c) it makes EXCELLENT leftovers! And we all know how much I hate leftovers.

One Pot Chicken and Vegetable Risotto

FullSizeRender (47)

What I’m Listening to: “Venice” by The Lighthouse and The Whaler

Ingredients (makes 3-4 servings)

-1 tbsp olive oil

-1/4 cup white onion, diced

-3 medium carrots, peeled and sliced

-3 cloves (or 1 1/2 tsp) of minced garlic

-1 large chicken breast, cut into bite-sized pieces

-1 1/2 cups milk

-2 cups chicken stock, plus 2 cups extra

-1 cup arborio rice, uncooked

-1 tbsp flour

-1 cup shredded parmesan

-1 cup frozen peas

-Salt and pepper

In a large stockpot or jumbo cooker, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and carrots and stir to coat them in oil; saute for 1-2 minutes, making sure that the veggies don’t burn. Add the garlic and continue to cook for 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the diced chicken. Cook until the outsides of the chicken are white for about 5 minutes (the insides will still be raw.)

Next, add the milk, 2 cups of chicken stock, arborio rice, and flour. Turn the heat to high, and mix the ingredients well. Let the pan reach a rapid boil, then turn down to medium heat. Cover the pan and set a timer for 25 minutes. Stir every 2-3 minutes, scraping the bottom of the pan so the rice does not stick. (Make sure to stay with the pan the entire time, to avoid boiling over!) If the risotto begins to look dry, add the extra chicken stock, a 1/4 cup at a time. Risotto should have a creamy consistency. After the timer goes off, remove the lid and add the parmesan, peas, and salt and pepper to taste. Allow to cook for 2-3 more minutes until the peas are warm. Serve immediately with crusty bread. Enjoy!

Note: Inspired by Recipe Tin Eats

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out Table for One

Facebook                Instagram

Pinterest                  Twitter

Leave a Reply

