Oh-So-Tasty Sloppy Joes

I’m having one of those weeks where I’d like nothing more than to stay in bed for the entire week. Know the feeling? I’m blaming this cold, snowy weather. So, I’ve been working furiously to channel spring and summer. I’m wearing brighter colors than my normal black. I’m drinking fruity tea. I’m mentally planning my summer landscaping projects. And, I made my favorite sloppy joes, one of my warm weather staples.

I don’t ever remember us eating sloppy joes as a kid, but I do remember the ones served for school lunch. Ew. Now, wipe that image out of your mind and take a peek at the picture below. Yum. These sloppy joes are light, flavorful, and make enough to get you a few days of lunches. The original recipe is courtesy of Perry’s Plate, but I’ve made some changes over the years, which are reflected in the recipe below. Enjoy, and keep channeling those warm weather thoughts!

Oh-So-Tasty Sloppy Joes

IMG_3816

What I’m Listening to: “Thunder Clatter” by Wild Cub

Ingredients (makes 8 sandwiches; 2 per serving)

-1 lb. ground turkey

-Lawry’s seasoned salt

-15 oz tomato sauce

-1/2 tsp ground sage

-2 1/2 tsp dried minced onion

-1/3 cup ketchup

-1/8 cup yellow mustard

-1/2 tsp salt

-1 tsp chili powder

-8 hamburger buns

Brown the turkey in a large skillet over medium-high heat. As the turkey cooks, sprinkle generously with seasoned salt. When the meat is cooked through, add in the remaining ingredients and stir. Cook over medium low heat until the sauce is heated through. Serve on buns with your favorite fruit or vegetable side.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out Table for One

Facebook                Instagram

Pinterest                  Twitter

Leave a Reply

