Chocolate and Peanut Butter Chip Scones

Oh, Iowa weather. You’d think after 27 years, I’d understand you. But I don’t. Yesterday, I sat on a bench outside while I waited for my friends for lunch. It was 45°! Today, it’s snowing. I don’t have anywhere to go, so I’m not complaining, but seriously. This weather is weird. I’m ready for spring.

I must be on a breakfast kick right now, because this is my second breakfast recipe in a week! I must also be on the same wavelength as all the food bloggers I follow, because my Facebook newsfeed has been blowing up with scones! Scones! If I was a little more organized (and a little less lazy), I would make a batch of these every Sunday to get me through the week. Not only are these Chocolate and Peanut Butter Chip Scones quick and easy to make, but I also had all the ingredients already in my kitchen!  Try out my variation, or customize with your own favorite baking chips!

Chocolate and Peanut Butter Chip Scones

IMG_3710

What I’m Listening to: “Take Me to Church” by Hozier

Ingredients (makes 16 scones)

-2 1/2 cups of flour+ extra for work surface

-1/8 cup of sugar

-1 tbsp of baking powder

-1/2 tsp salt

-1 stick of unsalted butter

-2 eggs, beaten

-3/4 cup+ 1/4 cup of heavy whipping cream

-3/4 cup of chocolate and peanut butter chips

Preheat the oven to 400°F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt until combined. Cut the butter into small pieces and add to the flour mixture. With the side of a fork, cut the butter into the flour mixture until it resembles crumbs. Make a well in the center of the bowl by pushing the mixture to the sides.

In a smaller bowl, beat the eggs, then add 3/4 cup of whipping cream, and chocolate and peanut butter chips. Mix together. Pour into the well in the flour mixture and stir gently until it takes on a dough-like consistency.

Move the dough to a lightly floured surface. Knead it until the dough is smooth. Divide it in half. Roll the first half into a ball, pressing flat into a disc. Cut it into 8 slices and transfer to a baking sheet. Repeat with the other half of dough.

Pour the remaining 1/4 cup of whipping cream into a small bowl. Using the back of a spoon, drizzle a few drops onto each scones, spreading gently. Bake for 13-15 minutes, or until the scones are lightly browned and cooked through. Serve warm, or store in an air-tight container until ready to serve.

Adapted from Crazy for Crust

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out Table for One

Facebook                Instagram

Pinterest                  Twitter

One thought on “Chocolate and Peanut Butter Chip Scones

  1. Pingback: Cooking for Beginners: 10 Kitchen Essentials Every Foodie Should Have | Table for One

Leave a Reply

