Dark Chocolate Peanut Clusters

When it comes to cooking for a group, I’m a chronic over-planner. A 9×13 pan of lasagna for 3 people. 7 appetizers for a party of 4. It’s a problem. Sometimes, thankfully, I catch myself BEFORE I make my recipe, and use half of the ingredients instead. But, that means I have a lot of random leftover stuff in my kitchen cupboards.

Now that the holidays are over, I’m mourning the holidays being over. So, I went to my cupboard this week to see what I could concoct that would make me feel in the Christmas spirit. I did about half of the Christmas baking that I usually do this year, so I had plenty of things on hand. After a few minutes of rummaging, I came across a bag of dark chocolate chips, and thus, my Dark Chocolate Peanut Clusters were born. I’ll be honest with you…I could eat the entire batch in one sitting, if it weren’t for my New Year’s goal to lose 15 pounds this year. I’m not even a fan of dark chocolate, but the peanut butter takes away the bitterness so it goes down smooth. If you don’t have peanuts on hand, I’m sure any kind of nut would be delicious! The best part? I whipped these up in 10 minutes before work!

Desserts for Beginners: Dark Chocolate Peanut Clusters

FullSizeRender (36)

What I’m Listening to: If I Lose Myself (acoustic) by OneRepublic

Ingredients (makes 15-20 clusters)

-10 oz package of dark chocolate chips

-1/2 cup of creamy peanut butter

-2 cups of lightly salted peanuts

Place the chocolate chips and peanut butter in a microwave-safe bowl. Heat for 30 seconds and stir. Heat for another 30 seconds and stir rapidly. The mixture should be smooth, so if it’s not, add 15 second increments in the microwave until it is. Mix in the peanuts until thoroughly coated.

Line a large baking sheet with wax paper. Drop the peanut mixture in spoonfuls on to the wax paper, spacing about one inch apart. Place in the freezer until the chocolate sets. Keep refrigerated until ready to serve…or eat two at a time by yourself.

IMG_3647

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out Table for One

Facebook                Instagram

Pinterest                  Twitter

Leave a Reply

