Fettuccine with Tomato Parmesan Sauce

Happy Saturday and holy productivity!  I am winning today! Normally, I’m a lazy bum on Saturdays, but for some reason, I couldn’t sleep past nine today. So, I got up, cleaned the entire house, did three loads of laundry, and made lunch, all before 2:00! I’m hoping the whole weekend goes this way, but I’m slowly feeling myself slip into a food coma, so I’m not holding my breath.

It’s been far too long since I’ve posted a pasta recipe, and today, I’m sharing one of my favorites with you! (Although I’m pretty sure I say that about EVERY pasta recipe.) I found this recipe online several years ago, and change it up almost every time I make it. The version I’m going to share with you today is my best one. This is my go-to recipe when I have pasta-craving company, for several reasons.

1. It takes about 30 minutes from start to finish!

2. It’s easy to double the recipe for guests.

3. The prep is minimal! Aside from chopping the onions, everything else happens in the pan.

4. I love a good sauce, and I really love recipes that have a little extra sauce, so I can dip my bread in it. This sauce is flavorful and is perfect for bread-dipping.

5. Since it’s meatless, I can make this recipe for all my friends! Yay!

Have I convinced you yet? Mmmm.

Fettuccine with Tomato Parmesan Sauce

 FullSizeRender (35)

What I’m Listening to: “Symphony” by Anna O. (She’s an Australian artist, and kinda reminds me of Lorde…check her out!)

Ingredients (makes 2 servings)

-1/3 of a 1 lb. box of fettuccine

-1 tbsp of olive oil

-1 tbsp of butter

-1/2 of a small white onion, diced

-5 cloves of minced garlic

-A 15 oz can of tomato sauce

-Salt and pepper, to taste

-1/3 cup of heavy cream

-1/2 cup of shredded parmesan

Bring a large saucepan of water to a boil. While you wait, dice the onion and measure out your other ingredients. When the water has reached a rapid boil, add the fettuccine and cook according to the package directions. Drain, and leave in your pasta strainer or pan. (Note: If you return the pasta to the pan and still have several minutes left of prepping the sauce, add a bit of olive oil to the pan and stir to coat. This will prevent the fettuccine from sticking together.)

In a large skillet or frying pan, melt the olive oil and butter together over medium heat. Add the onion and cook for one minute. Stir, then add the garlic and saute for 6-7 minutes, stirring frequently so that the garlic doesn’t burn. Add the tomato sauce and cook for about 1 minute, until the sauce is heated through. Stir in the whipping cream and add salt and pepper to taste. Cook for 1-2 more minutes until the sauce is hot. Turn off the stove, and add the parmesan cheese. Stir until melted. Add in the pasta and toss to coat. Serve with warm bread and a small salad.

FullSizeRender (33)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out Table for One

Facebook                Instagram

Pinterest                  Twitter

3 thoughts on “Fettuccine with Tomato Parmesan Sauce

Leave a Reply

