Egg Salad

I don’t mean to make anyone panic, but Christmas Eve is exactly two weeks away. TWO WEEKS! I’ve barely started sending Christmas cards, and I’m embarrassed by how little Christmas shopping and baking I’ve done. Anyone else feel like Christmas is coming too quickly this year? And we STILL don’t have snow. Sigh.

I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m the unofficial (yet totally official) Ambassador of Fun at work. I coordinate Secret Santa, staff potlucks, etc. Right now, we are doing “Twelve Days of Treats,” which is exactly what it sounds like: twelve days of staff members bringing in delicious Christmas treats. I’ve already gotten a little grief for expanding everyone’s waistlines prior to Christmas, so I’m offering up today’s recipe as a peace offering. Now, I’ve been experimenting with egg salad recipes for years, and I never quite come close to perfection. Perfection is my friend, Caroline’s egg salad, which I’ve attempted to recreate and failed miserably at, but this recipe I’ve come up with is pretty darn good too. Just the right amount of everything. Now, I LOVE red onions, almost in an unhealthy way, but if you’re not a fan, I’d suggest substituting green onion. Both are great! Now, sit back, and check out a recipe that won’t make you gain 5 pounds just by looking at it.

Egg Salad

IMG_3351

What I’m Listening to: “Angels We Have Heard on High” by Pentatonix

Ingredients (makes 2-3 wraps or sandwiches)

-6 eggs

-1/8 cup of Kraft Mayo with Olive Oil

-2 tsp of yellow mustard

-1/8 tsp of salt

-1/8 tsp of black pepper

-3 tbsp of red onion, diced

-Mixed greens

-3 tortilla wraps, or 6 slices of your favorite bread

Place the eggs in a large pan so they form a single layer. Fill the pan with water until the eggs are completely covered. Heat over high until boiling; shut off the heat and cover for 17 minutes. (Weird number, I know! But it works!) While the eggs are cooking, dice the red onion, and pull the rest of your ingredients together. Transfer the eggs to a bowl of ice water for 15 minutes to cool.

Remove the eggs from the water and dry with a towel. Crack each egg on a hard surface, then roll around to expand the cracks. Peel the shell and throw away. Place the eggs in a large bowl. Add the remaining ingredients and mix, breaking up the egg with the side of a fork. Serve with mixed greens in a wrap or on bread. (Both are delicious!) Keep any unused egg salad covered and refrigerated until ready to use. Enjoy!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out Table for One

Facebook                Instagram

Pinterest                  Twitter

Leave a Reply

