Snickers Apple Salad

Happy Monday! How is everyone’s December going so far? I have to admit, I’m incredibly disappointed that there’s no snow. Now, I can’t say I’m a huge fan of cold, but I do live in Iowa so I know what I’m getting in to. My feelings are, if it’s going to be cold, there needs to be snow. And right now, I’m looking at a front yard full of dead leaves and even deader grass. Yuck. At least I have my awesome Christmas decorations to look at.

I apologize for going MIA the last two weeks. My grandma passed away last Monday and I haven’t been in the mood to cook, bake, or even stick a frozen pizza in the oven. I thought about taking an extended break from Table for One, but I knew my grandma would want me to keep cooking, so here I am. 🙂 My posts will probably be sporadic the rest of the month, as I’m travelling to Wisconsin for the funeral this weekend, home for Christmas the next weekend, and then Minnesota the next week to have Christmas with my dad’s side of the family. But never fear. I’m not going anywhere!

There are two things you need to know about this Snickers Apple Salad.

1. It’s the best salad you will ever eat.

2. You probably already have this recipe. Everyone has this recipe. But, on the off chance that you don’t have it, here it is…

I honestly can’t think of too many things better than Snickers Apple Salad. Apples? Good. Pudding? Goooood. Snickers? Gooooooooooooooood. (Just like English Trifle…thanks Joey Tribbiani!) This does make slightly more than 4 servings, but, if you eat it in a large cereal bowl like I do, you’ll have no problems finishing the whole recipe. Or, if you’re hosting for the holidays, this is a perfect side dish!

Snickers Apple Salad

FullSizeRender (22)

What I’m Listening to: “Blank Space” by Taylor Swift

Ingredients (makes 6-8 servings)

-1 3.4 oz package of French Vanilla instant pudding

-2 cups of cold milk

-1 8 oz. tub of Cool Whip

-5 Snickers bars, cut into 1/4 inch slices

-3 to 4 Granny Smith apples, cut into small pieces

In a large bowl, whisk together the pudding mix and milk. Place in the fridge for 5 minutes for the pudding to set. In the mean time, cut up the Snickers bars and, if you plan to serve immediately, the apple slices. (I wait to add in the apple slices until right before I serve the salad. I don’t like mushy apples. If I’m eating this a bowl-full at a time, I add about half an apple to the bowl.) Remove the pudding from the fridge and add in the entire tub of Cool Whip. Mix well. Gently stir in the Snickers pieces and apples. Keep covered in the fridge until ready to serve. Enjoy!

FullSizeRender (20)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out Table for One

Facebook                Instagram

Pinterest                  Twitter

Leave a Reply

