Cinnamon Toast Crunch Bars

Happy Sunday, everyone! I hope you had a wonderful weekend! I spent mine in the Chicago suburbs with my wonderful friend, Justine! Justine and I went to college together for a year before she transferred, but thankfully, we’ve kept in touch. Since we’re both insanely busy, visits are rare. She came to my house last year, so I made the drive to see her this time. I got in on Friday evening, after spending some quality time in Chicago rush hour traffic. I got to meet her husband, Dan, for the first time, and her cute little kitty baby, Douglas. Isn’t he precious?

IMG_3237

We had a low key night with pizza, wine, and watching the winter finales of “Scandal” and “How to Get Away with Murder.” (AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH on both accounts!) On Saturday, we got ready and walked around her town. I bought a new watch, Justine got some new gloves, and we had lunch with Dan. Then, Justine and I took the L into the city. We shopped at Water Tower and then had dinner at Quartino. YUM.

IMG_3231 IMG_3230

The tortellini that I recreated and Cavatelli,,,sooooo good!

After dinner, we headed back to her place to drink wine and watch SNL. It was a perfect weekend!

IMG_3234

So, as I’ve mentioned before, I am not a fan of breakfast. Not. A. Fan. But, I do love Cinnamon Toast Crunch. Like, a lot. I’ve been brainstorming recipes to use it in for awhile, but I kept coming back to these bars. They are a fun and simple twist on Rice Krispie Treats, and only make 6 bars! You can eat them for dessert, or if you’re like me, convince yourself they are healthy enough for breakfast…

Cooking for Beginners: Cinnamon Toast Crunch Bars

IMG_3210

What I’m Listening to: “Bang Bang” by Jessie J, Nicki Minaj, and Arianna Grande

Ingredients (makes 6 bars)

-2 tbsp butter

-2 1/2 cups of mini marshmallows

-3 cups of Cinnamon Toast Crunch

Place the butter and marshmallows in a large microwavable bowl. Cook for 1 min, stir. Place back in the microwave for 40-60 seconds until the marshmallows are completely melted. Stir well. Pour the cereal over the top and stir to coat. Pour the cereal into a lightly greased 8×8 or 11×7 pan. Press down with the back of a spoon. Allow the bars to cool completely before serving.

IMG_3212 IMG_3209

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out Table for One

Facebook                Instagram

Pinterest                  Twitter

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Toast Crunch Bars

Leave a Reply

