Elizabeth’s Bacon-Wrapped Chicken

With the holidays approaching, I’ve been doing a lot of reminiscing about all the places I’ve lived in. This will be my third Christmas in my own house! Crazy! It seems like just yesterday that I was in my awful first apartment that I told you about. (The smokers, paper thin walls…gross.) After that apartment, was another apartment before I ended up here. It was a bit better than the first one. I could have pets (yay!), I lived on the top floor so I didn’t have to listen to the guy above me, and I wasn’t afraid of getting shanked by my neighbors. I was also excited because a girl I went to college with, Elizabeth, lived in the next building with her husband, Tyler. Once I was settled in, I had her over for lasagna to catch up. After two hours of talking, Tyler came over to join us, and a tradition was born. Every 1-2 weeks, we would take turns hosting dinner at our apartments. Four years later, we are best friends, and are still doing our weekly dinners. How cool is that?!

I get a lot of my dinner inspiration from Elizabeth. She is the master of all things comfort food. Seriously. I feel like I gain ten pounds every time I eat dinner at their house, because I literally cannot stop eating. Yum. The recipe I’m sharing today is not mine; it’s one of Elizabeth’s creations. She made it for me a few weeks ago and I insisted she guest-write a post about it on “Table for One.” (Not the first time I’ve made that request. I think I say it every time I’m over there.) She didn’t want to write, but said I could share the recipe so I am. Get ready to drool all over your keyboard.

Cooking for Beginners: Elizabeth’s Bacon-Wrapped Chicken

IMG_3178

What I’m Listening to: “American Pie” by Don McLean

Ingredients (makes 3-4 servings)

-1 package of raw chicken tenders (usually has 9-10 pieces)

-10-15 slices of raw bacon

-1/8 cup of brown sugar

-1 1/2 to 2 tsp chili powder

-Salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 375. In a shallow bowl, combine the brown sugar, chili powder, and salt and pepper. Set aside.  Wash the chicken and remove any excess skin or fat. Wrap each tender tightly with a strip of bacon. For larger pieces, use 2 strips of bacon. Roll each bacon-wrapped tender in the sugar mixture to lightly coat. Place the chicken on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until the chicken is cooked through. Serve with sweet potato fries or fruit.

FullSizeRender (15)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For all the latest at Table for One

Facebook            Instagram            Pinterest             Twitter

*All material is property of “Table for One”*

2 thoughts on “Elizabeth’s Bacon-Wrapped Chicken

  1. Pingback: The Best Recipes of 2014 | Table for One

  2. Pingback: Slow Cooker Chicken Parmesan | Table for One

Leave a Reply

