Cooking for Beginners: Crockpot Honey BBQ Chicken Sandwiches

Aren’t lazy Saturdays the best? I’ve been up for six hours, and have spent the majority of that time drinking Starbucks, snuggling with my kitty girls, and catching up on my TV shows. Tonight, I’m going to see one of my students in her fall musical. I’d be lying if I said that all my Saturdays turn out this way. Usually, they involve lots of laundry, some yard work, and chasing Stella and Charlee down so I can clip their nails. But, I’ve trying this new thing where I let myself have some actual down time on the weekends, as opposed to cramming every hour with something…so far, I’m a fan!

I’ve heard from a lot of you recently that you’d love to cook more, but you don’t have the time. I hear ya! During the week, I’m lucky if I have the time (or energy) to crack open a can of soup. What if I told you that I had a recipe for you that would take only 15 minutes of your time? Interested? I thought so.

FullSizeRender (10)

These Crockpot Honey BBQ Chicken Sandwiches could not be any easier if I tried. Seriously. Here’s why:

1. They have three ingredients. Yes. Three.

2. Aside from cleaning your chicken, there’s no prep. Just throw it in the crockpot and go!

3. As promised, it will only take 15 minutes of your time. Possibly even less.

Are you drooling yet?

Crockpot Honey BBQ Chicken Sandwiches

FullSizeRender (8)

What I’m Listening to: several episodes of “How I Met Your Mother”…because, again, this recipe only took 15 minutes of my time!

Ingredients (makes 3-4 sandwiches)

-2 large chicken breasts

-About 1/2 of a 28oz bottle of your favorite Honey BBQ sauce (I used Sweet Baby Ray’s)

-1/8 cup of brown sugar

Wash and trim the fat off of the chicken breasts. Place them whole in the bottom of your lightly greased crockpot. Cover the chicken with the BBQ sauce. (To be honest, I don’t measure; I just eyeball it! You want to make sure that the chicken is completely covered in sauce.) Sprinkle the brown sugar on top; cover. Cook on high for 3 hours.

When your 3 hours are up, remove the chicken from the crockpot and place in a large bowl. Leave the sauce in the crock. Using an electric mixer on low, shred the chicken. If you don’t have a mixer, two forks work just fine! Return the chicken to the crockpot for 10-15 minutes, on the “warm” setting, to allow the chicken to absorb the sauce. Serve on a bun with sweet potato fries or chips!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For all the latest at Table for One

Facebook            Instagram            Pinterest             Twitter

*All material is property of “Table for One”*

4 thoughts on “Cooking for Beginners: Crockpot Honey BBQ Chicken Sandwiches

  1. Pingback: The Best Recipes of 2014 | Table for One

  2. Pingback: Cooking for Beginners: 10 Kitchen Essentials Every Foodie Should Have | Table for One

Leave a Reply

