Ultimate Creamy Mac and Cheese

Does anyone remember that show Ashton Kutcher used to host on MTV? I think it was called “Punked”? Anyway…I feel like I’m on that show, probably on a daily basis. Today, and honestly most days, it’s my cats that cause me the same distress and embarassment that Ashton caused numerous celebrities…in hilarious ways. Some backstory…today was  a big day for me at work. For the past 4-5 months, my friend, Caroline, and I have been co-chairing the United Way campaign for our entire city. We’ve attended meetings, trainings, and had to come up with a video to convince people to donate. We wrote the script, cast the actors, and were present for the video shoot. (And I was in it…never again!) Anyway, today was the first of two presentation days. I left the house much earlier than usual, and came home this afternoon for a quick break before our second presentation of the day. Now, let me be very clear about something…Stella and Charlee have ALWAYS been indoor cats, except for the first 3-4 months of their lives, when they were outdoor strays. (Or, in Charlee’s case, a barn kitty.) I don’t let them outside, we don’t go for walks. Nothing. Even so, they have this crazy fascination with outside. So, when I got home today, I no more than opened the door, and Stella went flying out onto the deck. I set down my purse, closed the door, and chased her down. (This is a pretty normal occurrence.) I told her she was naughty, opened the door to let her back in, and out came Charlee. Charlee likes to think she is brave and outdoorsy, but alas, she is not. Her trips outside are much less frequent, but today, she ran outside like a bat out of hell, and scurried about the side of the house. Once she got to the fence, she stopped, so I picked her up, told her she was naughty, and opened the door to put her inside, when out came Stella. THIS HAPPENED THREE MORE TIMES. I’m serious. I finally managed to get them both inside, but who knows what will happen when I have to go back to work… Wish me luck!

I have been searching for a good mac and cheese recipe for…well, forever. But every time I try a new recipe, it’s a bust. Too dry, not enough cheese, not enough flavor, tastes like plastic…I could go on. But then, I found this recipe. I made some changes right off the bat, and it was delicious! The perfect mac and cheese…creamy, cheesy, and full of flavor. I was a little wary about the amount of leftovers, so I figured I’d make less next time. The next night, I reheated some of the mac and cheese, and it was JUST AS GOOD as the first time! In fact, I ate it four days in a row and didn’t get sick of it! This is exactly the type of recipe I’ve been looking for, and, after a little testing, I’m ready to share it with you all. I hope you like it as much as I do.

Ultimate Creamy Mac and Cheese

Adapted from Bless This Mess

IMG_2968

What I’m Listening to: season 5, episode 22 of “How I Met Your Mother”

Ingredients (makes 4 side portions, or 2-3 main dish portions)

-3 cups of small-shaped pasta (I used radiatore)

-4 tbsp of butter

-1 12oz can of evaporated milk

-2 eggs

-1/2 tsp dry mustard

-1/2 tsp black pepper

-1/4 tsp salt

-1/4 tsp paprika

-2 cups of shredded sharp cheddar

-1 cup of shredded mild cheddar

Bring a large saucepan of water to a boil. Cook the pasta according to the package directions. When done, drain the pasta and return to the pan. Place the butter on top of the pasta and heat on low. Stir until melted.

In a large bowl, mix together the eggs, 1/2 the milk, dry mustard, pepper, salt, paprika, and sharp cheddar. (I did this step while the pasta was cooking.) Pour over the hot noodles and mix well. Continue to cook over low heat. Add the rest of the milk and mild cheddar. Cook for 3-5 minutes, until the cheese has completely melted and the sauce has thickened. Salt and pepper to taste, then serve!

IMG_2974

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out Table for One

Facebook                Instagram

Pinterest                  Twitter

One thought on “Ultimate Creamy Mac and Cheese

  1. Pingback: The Best Recipes of 2014 | Table for One

Leave a Reply

