Pumpkin Crunch

Guys! I know I normally have a story or something to go with every post, but I’m just too excited about this recipe…because it’s two recipes! Yes! Two. The first recipe, Pumpkin Crunch, is my FAVORITE fall dessert. My mom used to make this all the time when we were growing up, and I make it at least once a year for myself. The original recipe makes a 13×9 pan, so I’m hoping this smaller version will be friendlier to my waistline. (Although with the cup of sugar and stick of butter, I’m not so sure…)  You’ll have leftover pumpkin and cake mix from the Pumpkin Crunch, so you can combine them to make muffins! Two recipes in one…what could be better?!

Pumpkin Crunch

pumpkin crunch

What I’m Listening to: Pentatonix

Ingredients (makes an 11×7 pan)

-1 heaping cup of canned pumpkin (I use “Libby’s”…not pumpkin pie filling)

-1 cup of milk

-2 eggs

-3 tsp pumpkin pie spice

-1 cup of sugar

-1/4 tsp salt

-1 box of yellow cake mix

-1 stick of butter, melted

-Chopped pecans

Preheat the oven to 350. In a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, combine the pumpkin, milk, eggs, pumpkin pie spice, sugar, and salt. Mix well, then pour into a greased 11×7 pan. Sprinkle 2/3 of the yellow cake mix generously over the top. Set the rest aside. Pour the melted butter evenly over the cake mix. Top with chopped pecans. Bake for 40-45 minutes until the top is golden brown. Serve with whipped topping or vanilla ice cream.

You can mix together the remaining canned pumpkin and cake mix to make muffins! I threw a handful of chocolate chips in, too. That’s all you need! It made four muffins. I baked them at 350 for 25 minutes. Check back tomorrow for the full muffin recipe!

1796508_467579630047119_3984613240891849758_n

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out Table for One

Facebook                Instagram

Pinterest                  Twitter

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Crunch

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins | Table for One

  2. Pingback: The Best Recipes of 2014 | Table for One

Leave a Reply

