Cooking for Beginners: Pepperoni Pizza Pouches

My cats are in absolute heaven today. Aside from a Starbucks run this morning and a pit stop at Target to get cheese for dinner, I’ve been home all day, curled up under a blanket and watching “How I Met Your Mother.” It’s rare that I am home for the whole day, even on the weekend. Any hopes of productivity went out the window when I woke up to overcast skies and light drizzling rain this morning, so, a Lazy Sunday it was. Charlee has been sleeping on my bed and Stella has spent the better part of the day laying on my lap, which is where she is currently. She loves my blogging time. I generally blog while sitting on the couch, so she’ll wait until I’m a few sentences in before squeezing into the space between me and my laptop, and making herself at home. It’s cute, but seriously. I think I could cut my blogging time in half if she wasn’t looking to have her belly rubbed every 2 minutes.

IMG_2734

I am really excited about my second “Cooking for Beginners” post!  I promise that I’ll branch out from pizza-themed recipes, but hey, it IS National Pizza Month. This is basically a glorified Hot Pocket…except I didn’t burn my mouth on mine, so I like them much better than the store-bought kind. I was able to pull this recipe together with ingredients I already had in my kitchen, and the prep was minimal. I made these for lunch today, but I think they’d also make a great appetizer, especially if you cut them in halves or quarters. Serve with some marinara for dipping and fruit on the side.

Pepperoni Pizza Pouches

IMG_2915

What I’m Listening to: “Stay with Me” by Sam Smith

Ingredients (makes 4 pouches)

-1 package of refrigerated jumbo buttermilk biscuits (8 ct)

-1/2 cup of leftover spaghetti sauce, plus extra for dipping

-1/2 cup of shredded mozzarella

-12 pepperonis

-2 tbsp butter, melted

-1/4 tsp garlic powder

-1/8 tsp oregano

Preheat the oven to 350. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Place a second piece on a flat surface, as a work space. Place two biscuits on the work surface at a time, a few inches apart. Flatten the biscuits with your hands, while maintaining the round shape. Spoon 1 tbsp of sauce onto each biscuit and spread with the back of the spoon. Sprinkle a 1/2 tbsp of cheese on one of the biscuits. Cover the cheese with 3 pepperonis, then sprinkle with 1 1/2 tbsp of cheese. Take the second biscuit and lay it over the first, sauce side down. Press together with your fingers. If the sauce leaks out, that’s ok! Use the tines of a fork (the part you eat from) to seal the pouch, all the way around. Move the pouch to the baking sheet. Repeat with the remaining biscuits until you have four pizza pouches.

Bake in the oven for 13 minutes. In the mean time, melt the butter, and mix in the garlic powder and oregano. If you want a bolder flavor, feel free to double the amount of spices you use. When the pouches are done, spoon the garlic butter mixture over each. Bake for an additional 10 minutes, or until the tops are golden brown.

IMG_2908

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out Table for One

Facebook                Instagram

Pinterest                  Twitter

2 thoughts on “Cooking for Beginners: Pepperoni Pizza Pouches

Leave a Reply

