Creamy Potato Soup

When I bought my house two and a half years ago, I had no idea what I was getting myself in to. I mean, really. No idea. What do you mean I can’t set my heat at 78? I have to mow my lawn how often?! What’s escrow? But, after getting a new water heater and clothes dryer, paying a $300 heating bill, and finally figuring out how to mow the hill in my front yard, I feel like I’ve got this. Well, I did feel like that, until Monday. On Mondays, I don’t work until noon, so I usually get up, have breakfast and watch a little TV, go for a walk, shower, do some chores, and then head out for the day, This past Monday, I made it to “have breakfast and watch a little TV.” Before I took my walk, I decided to reshoot my blog pictures for today’s post, because they didn’t turn out like I wanted. I opened the refrigerator door to get my soup so I could reheat it, when the fridge door, FELL OFF. Yes, you heard that right. One minute, the door was attached, and the next, it was smashing into my hip and coming dangerously close to chopping off my toes. After the shock of holding my fridge door wore off, I propped the door against my now exposed fridge, and started making phone calls. First, I called my dad (“Your door what?!”). Then, I called Sears, where my fridge was from. (“We can fix it next Tuesday…does that work?”) The same thing with the next place I called. Finally, the third repair place I called agreed to come over within the hour (after laughing at what happened) to take a look and see what they could do. Thankfully, it was an easy fix. Part of the hinge had been unscrewing over time, so when I opened the door on Monday, it was enough for the screw to fall out. The repair man fixed  it up for me, explaining what he did as he did it, and told me that in all his years, he’d never seen this happen before. Of course. But, I’m not complaining. I have a fridge. It has a door on it. I’m good. Although, I never did get those blog pictures retaken, so you’ll have have to suffer through the originals.

With the weather getting cooler, it was only a matter of time before I posted a soup recipe. I’ve also gotten many requests for soup on my Facebook page, so I decided to start with one of my favorites. I’ve honestly never known anyone to not like potato soup. It’s so versatile! You can eat it plain, or add bacon, cheese, chives, crackers…the list goes on. I’ve made this potato soup as basic as you can get, so feel free to add any of your favorite toppings to the end. This recipe is also vegetarian friendly! Enjoy!

Creamy Potato Soup

FullSizeRender (1)

What I’m Listening to: “God Only Knows”, the BBC remake of the Beach Boys original

Ingredients (makes 4 heaping servings)

-4 cups of baking potatoes, peeled and diced

-3 or 4 carrots, peeled and sliced thin

-32 oz of chicken or vegetable broth (I can vouch; they are both delicious!)

-4 tbsp of butter

-1 small onion, diced

-4 tbsp flour

-1/2 tsp salt

-1 tsp ground pepper (black or white…I like white, as it has a little kick to it!)

-2 cups of milk

Wash, peel, and cut up the potatoes and carrots, placing them in a stockpot. (Any pan that can hold at least 8 cups is great!) Add the broth to the pot, and bring to a boil on high heat. Once the broth is boiling, turn the heat down to medium and let the vegetables cook for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.

In a smaller pan, melt the butter over medium heat. Add the diced onion and cook for 4-5 minutes, until the onion begins to soften. (You may want to taste test, to make sure the texture works for you.) Next, add the flour to the onion mixture. Whisk together quickly. Once the mixture has thickened, cook for one minute, stirring constantly. Add the salt and pepper, continuing to whisk. Add the milk slowly to the onion mixture in three parts, whisking quickly after each addition. After all the milk has been added, cook on medium heat for 3-4 minutes, stirring occasionally. When the mixture takes on a gravy-like thickness, it is ready and can be removed from the heat.

If you like your potato soup to have a thick consistency, scoop out a cup of the broth and set aside, before moving on to the next step. Pour the milk mixture into the vegetable pot and stir to combine. Heat on medium until the soup is hot. If you removed the broth and find your soup to be too thick, add the broth back in, a few tablespoons at a time, until the soup is the right consistency. Serve with your favorite toppings and warm bread.

Note: The soup does thicken when refrigerated. I’ve found that if you use around 3 cups of broth, I usually need to add a little water or milk when reheating the next day. However, I did the full 4 cups this time and it’s the perfect consistency.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out Table for One

Facebook                Instagram

Pinterest                  Twitter

One thought on “Creamy Potato Soup

  1. Pingback: The Best Recipes of 2014 | Table for One

Leave a Reply

