Cooking for Beginners: Pizza Burgers

I never realized how hard my name is to say, until I started teaching preschool. Most of the kids do pretty well with it, but I have a little guy in class right now that’s…struggling. He had my name right the first week of class. Then, it was Miss Jeff for a day, followed by Mom, which is pretty typical. Now? I’m Miss Chef. It’s ADORABLE. I can’t even handle it. And…it’s just one more very important reason you should read my blog. MISS CHEF. It’s in writing.

So, it’s National Pizza and Pasta Month, and the celebrating has begun! Although, it’s pretty much always National Pizza and Pasta Month at my house, so…  It’s also my very first “cooking for beginners” post, so I’m really excited. I’m kicking off the month and the blog series with a recipe I absolutely love: Pizza Burgers! My mom used to make these all the time! Now, I know I’ve said before that different recipes were ugly, but this one truly takes the cake. Not. Pretty. (Also, not pretty when you eat them. This is NOT a first, second, or third date food!) But I digress. These are SO easy to make, even if you’re not confident in your cooking skills. There are only six ingredients. Six very affordable ingredients. Did I mention they take less than 30 minutes? Best recipe ever.

Pizza Burgers

IMG_2817

What I’m Listening to: the pilot episode of “Selfie” (still deciding if I like it)

Ingredients (makes 6-8 burgers)

-1/2 lb of ground Italian sausage (My mom used to make them with ground beef, or you could use ground turkey as a healthy alternative. If you go either of those routes, season generously with Seasoned Salt and garlic powder.)
-1 small can of tomato soup

-1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

-1/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

-1 tsp dried oregano

-3-4 English muffins, halved

Place the Italian sausage (or other ground meat) in a large non-stick skillet. If you aren’t sure if your skillet is nonstick, lightly spray the skillet with cooking spray. Turn on the stove burner to medium heat and start to break up the meat with a spatula. Once the meat is broken into small pieces, allow them to sit for 1-2 minutes until lightly browned. Turn the sausage over to brown the other side. Continue to stir and turn the meat every 1-2 minutes. It will be done when there is no pink and the meat is browned, but not burnt. Remove from the heat and set aside.

Preheat the oven to 375. Place the meat in a large mixing bowl. Add the can of tomato soup (do NOT add the water like you would if you were making soup), the shredded cheeses, and the oregano. Mix well.

Place your English muffins in a toaster on a low setting. Toast lightly, then place center up on a baking sheet. Place a large spoonful of the meat mixture on each muffin, using the back of the spoon to spread it. (Recommended by Miss Chef: only make as many as you plan to eat in one sitting. They do not reheat well!) Bake the pizza burgers in the oven for 5-7 minutes, or until hot. Allow to cool for 3-5 minutes, then enjoy!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out Table for One

Facebook                Instagram

Pinterest                  Twitter

Leave a Reply

