Tortellini Carbonara

Guys…I just did the stupidest thing. I had half of this post typed out, ready to go, and I deleted it. Yes, that’s right. I deleted it. Clearly, I didn’t pay attention when my teachers told me to always save my work. Oops. So, I’m going to start over…

I think I had mentioned a few weeks ago that I was going to Chicago to visit one of my best friends, Ria, who was going to be in the States. I also got to see my friends, Danielle and Aubree, who I hadn’t seen in over a year. It was a wonderful weekend, full of friendship and amazing food! The first night, we ate at one of my favorite spots downtown, Quartino. (To be honest, I’ve only been there twice. But, it’s so good, it’s earned a spot as one of the best!) At Quartino, sharing is caring, so they recommend that you order several dishes for your party to pass around. Since we had 14 people, we decided to pair off to order. Ria and I got fettucine with marinara and basil (amazing), a quattro formaggi pizza (amazing!), and a tortellini with alfredo sauce, peas and prosciutto (AMAZING!) I knew I needed to recreate these recipes at home, so I started with the tortellini. This is comfort food at it’s finest. I used bacon in place of the prosciutto, but I was pretty happy with the result. I also really love peas, so feel free to put less in yours.

Tortellini Carbonara

photo 1 (9)

What I’m Listening to: “Shark Attack” by Grouplove

Ingredients (makes 3 servings)

-3 cups of frozen tortellini

-1/2 a stick of butter

-1 cup of heavy cream

-1 tsp of minced garlic

-1 1/2 cups of shredded parmesan cheese

-Black pepper

-1/2 tsp of dried parsley

-1/4 lb of bacon (To save money, buy it at a meat counter, rather than getting a big pack!)

-1 cup of frozen peas

In a large saucepan, heat lightly salted water to a boil. While the water is heating, cut the bacon into 1/2 inch pieces with a a pair of kitchen scissors. (A knife also works!) Place in a small skillet and fry for 6-7 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the bacon is crispy. Set aside.

In a small saucepan, melt the butter completely. Add the heavy cream and cook over low heat for 5 minutes. At this point, your water should be boiling so add the tortellini. Tortellini does not take long to cook, so make sure you keep an eye on it. After one minute, add the peas to the tortellini, and continue to boil for 2 minutes.

After the heavy cream has cooked, add the garlic and cheese, and whisk together quickly. If the cheese will not melt, you can turn up the heat to medium. Once the cheese is melted, stir in a few shakes of black pepper and the parsley. Remove from the heat.

Drain the tortellini and peas thoroughly, but do not rinse! Place back in the saucepan. Top with the alfredo sauce and bacon; mix well. The sauce will thicken as it stands, so serve when it is your desired consistency. Note: this meal is very rich, so pair with a side salad or fruit.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out Table for One

Facebook                Instagram

Pinterest                  Twitter

2 thoughts on “Tortellini Carbonara

  1. Pingback: Cinnamon Toast Crunch Bars | Table for One

  2. Pingback: The Best Recipes of 2014 | Table for One

Leave a Reply

