Kale Chips

Happy September! This year has gone so fast. I can’t even believe it! Don’t get me wrong; I am psyched that it’s almost fall, but just thinking ahead to another winter of polar vortexes has got me…pissy. I think that’s the only word for it. Anyway, I got to spend one of my last summer weekends (and the last weekend before school starts) with one of my best friends in the whole world, Ria. Ria lives in Australia and I haven’t seen her in two and a half years. Crazy, right? I drove into Chicago last Friday to spend two days with her, and then picked her up Monday morning to bring her here. It was the best weekend, and in true Steph form, involved delicious food…which, of course, in all the excitement, I forgot to take pictures of. But, I got lots of inspiration for future blog posts, so you’ll be seeing my version of many of the awesome dishes I tried on here soon. Ria is in town for one more day, so I’ll be spending some more time with her in between work and sleeping. Here we are this weekend…aren’t we cute?!

Stephand Ria

As I mentioned above, school is starting! Actually, it started yesterday. With my late night teaching schedule, I’ve been trying to find ways to keep my dinners healthy, since they usually occur after 10pm. I’ve been experimenting with kale chips, since they seem to be all the rage. I won’t lie; they taste nothing like a potato chip, but I really like them! This recipe makes just enough for one, so you won’t have to worry about storing the leftovers.

 

Kale Chips

IMG_2522

What I’m Listening to: lots and lots of Ed Sheeran on repeat

Ingredients (makes 1 serving)

-5-6 large kale leaves

-1 tbsp olive oil

-1/2 tsp seasoned salt (I like Lawry’s)

 

Preheat the oven to 350. Wash your kale leaves and put in a strainer. At this point, I pressed each leaf between several paper towels to dry them. You can also use a salad spinner, but I didn’t have one. Cut the leaf part off of the stem, and tear into pieces. Sprinkle the kale on a large parchment-lined baking sheet. Lightly drizzle the oil over the leaves, as evenly as you can. Too much oil will leave the kale feeling greasy. Sprinkle the seasoned salt over the kale. Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until the edges are browning, but not burnt. Allow to cool for 5-10 minutes. Serve with a hot or cold sandwich and some fruit.

IMG_2485

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Don’t forget to follow us for all the latest news at

“Table for One”

Facebook            Instagram            Pinterest

One thought on “Kale Chips

  1. Pingback: Cooking for Beginners: 10 Spices You Should Always Have In Your Cupboard | Table for One

Leave a Reply

