Meat Lover’s Baked Beans

Guys, I have a cold…in August. What the crap?! This isn’t supposed to happen! I’m not supposed to be drinking hot tea, taking DayQuil, and wearing fuzzy socks in AUGUST! But alas. I don’t normally let a cold take me down, but I ended up staying home from work today, due to lack of oxygen and my awful Roz from “Monster’s Inc” voice. I’m feeling considerably better, but I really hope this is out of my system by tomorrow. I only have four weeks until dance classes start up again, and a to-do list a mile long. Send healing thoughts, people. I’d appreciate it!

In my opinion, one of the best things about summer is grilling out. I love grill food, and I love hosting, so I try to have a cookout at my house at least once a month while the weather is nice. I had some friends over two weekends ago, and figured it would be a great opportunity to bust out some of my favorite recipes, and some new ones too. This recipe is a newbie, but man oh man, am I glad I tried it! It definitely feeds more than one, so file this under “food you can share.” (Because everyone has to cook for someone else at some point, right?) Did I mention it’s a crockpot recipe? And it has bacon? And it’s delicious?  I really can’t take credit for the recipe itself, but here is my take on baked beans.

Meat Lover’s Baked Beans

Adapted from Cooking on the Front Burners

photo 1 (5)

What I’m Listening to: Ed Sheeran’s “Sing” on repeat

Ingredients (feeds an army!)

-A 28 oz can of Bush’s Original Baked Beans

-A 28 oz can of Bush’s Onion Baked Beans

-1 lb of ground beef

-Lawry’s Seasoned Salt

-1/2 large onion, diced

-1 lb. bacon, cut into 1/2 inch pieces

-3/4 cup of ketchup

-3/4 cup brown sugar

-1/8 cup yellow mustard

-1 tbsp chili powder

In a large skillet, fry the ground beef and onion. Sprinkle generously with Lawry’s while cooking. When the meat is browned, drain the grease and set the meat mixture aside. In the same skillet, fry the bacon until crispy. Place all ingredients in a crockpot and mix well. Cook on low for four hours, stirring occasionally. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out “Table for One”

Facebook            Instagram            Pinterest

Leave a Reply

