Steak, Rice, and Veggie Quesadillas

I’ve taken up walking recently. I mean, I’ve always walked places, but I’m making it a more official thing. Three to four times a week, I have a date with VanderVeer, the park down the street. I clear my mind, walk, and sweat. It’s awesome. I love it. But the best part? The best part is all the friends I make when I’m walking. Nothing seems to bring people together like burning in the sun and sweating your ass off. Anyway, every time I walk, I get a thumbs-up, or a smile, or a “great job!” …from people I don’t know! Today, I made friends with an older guy who made sure to say something to  me every time we passed each other…which was 6 times. I don’t know that there’s a better way to start the day than with encouragement from strangers!

So, have you all seen Taco Bell’s newest menu addition? The “Quesarito?” It’s supposed to be a cheesy quesadilla-burrito hybrid. It must be a thing now, because I’ve seen increasingly more combo recipes in the past few weeks, including something called a “Burritodilla.” Yikes. Anyway, I decided to give my own hybrid a try. I have a quesadilla maker that I got in college, so I dusted it off, and gave these a shot! I was surprised with how filling they were! They tasted very fresh and are a great, easy weeknight dinner, perfect for just you or some company.

 Steak, Rice, and Veggie Quesadillas

IMG_2170

What I’m Listening to: The Fray’s “How to Save a Life” album

Ingredients (makes 3-4 quesadillas)

-two 6 oz. steaks

-1 cup of brown rice, cooked

-1 can of corn, or a 1/2 bag of frozen corn

-1 can of black beans, rinsed

-Shredded Monterrey Cheddar cheese

-4 burrito sized tortillas (I used regular flour tortillas this time, but have used tomato-basil before. Yum.) If you don’t have those on hand, you can use smaller ones, one for the top and one for the bottom.

IMG_2166 IMG_2168

Place the steaks in a large skillet. Lightly season both sides with garlic powder and Lawry’s seasoned salt. Cook on med-high heat, flipping every few minutes until cooked through. Remove from the skillet and place on a paper-towel lined plate.

Cook the corn and beans separately until hot. Season the corn with salt and pepper. I like to season the black beans with a little cumin and cayenne pepper. 

Spread 1/4 to 1/3 cup of rice on half of a tortilla. Top with the corn, black beans, and steak. Top with shredded cheese, and fold over the tortilla. Place on a greased quesadilla grill and close the top. (If you don’t have a quesadilla grill or sandwich press, you can use a frying pan.) Allow both sides to brown. Remove from the heat and serve with fresh salsa or guacamole. (I recommend my guacamole recipe here.)

IMG_2169

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out “Table for One”

Facebook            Pinterest            Instagram

 

 

Leave a Reply

