Holy Guacamole!

…see what I did there?

It’s Mexican night at my house. I love, love, love Mexican food. For a long time, I wasn’t willing to make it myself because I was terrified I’d mess it up. I’m that way with everything; pizza, Thai food, cupcakes. Anyway, I’m (slowly) moving past that, and have started tackling dishes that scare me. Up first, guacamole. I’ve had excellent guacamole, and I’ve had terrible, horrible, “I need to go throw up now” guacamole. My first few attempts fell into the latter category, until the heavens opened up and the stars aligned, and this guacamole was born. Your welcome.

Guacamole

    IMG_2160

What I’m Listening to: my friend, Tyler, talking (the more the merrier when I’m making Mexican)

Ingredients

-2 ripe avocados

-1/2 of a small red onion, diced

-Lemon juice

-1 serrano pepper, diced

-1 clove (or 1/2 tsp) of garlic

-1/2 tsp salt

-1/2 tsp pepper

Cut the avocados in half. (If you’re new to avocados, a ripe avocado will be soft when you squeeze it. Trust me, you want a soft avocado or this recipe is going to be tricky.) Scoop out the pit and scrape the insides into a bowl. Mash them up a little bit. Add the red onion, serrano pepper, garlic, salt, pepper, and a big squirt of lemon juice. Typically, most recipes call for lime juice, but I wanted to spice things up.

Mix well and serve immediately. Refrigerate any remaining guacamole in an air tight container, so it doesn’t turn brown.

IMG_2157~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Stay updated on “Table for One!”

Facebook          Pinterest          Instagram

2 thoughts on “Holy Guacamole!

  1. Pingback: Steak, Rice, and Veggie Quesadillas | Table for One

  2. Pingback: 4 Ingredient Breakfast Nachos | Table for One

Leave a Reply

