Creamy Tomato Mac and Cheese

So…there may or may not be a chipmunk in my house right now. Yes, you heard that right. A little, furry, Chip and Dale, Alvin and the Chipmunks, chipmunk. In. My. House. Last Sunday, I was going down to the basement to do some laundry when I saw a giant black blur followed by both of my kitties. I thought it was a rat so I did some very necessary panicking, got my sister Mallory’s attention, and (obviously) sent her downstairs first. Once she determined it wasn’t a rat, I found a giant plastic Rubbermaid container, and attempted to trap it. Yes, with a Rubbermaid container…what I was planning to do once it was trapped, I don’t know. Anyway, after several laps around my very small basement, being chased by two twenty-somethings, and two hungry cats, the chipmunk scaled one of the concrete walls, and disappeared into a crack. For all I know, it’s still in there. I sincerely hope it found it’s way out, but I’m still a little nervous that I’m going to wake up some morning with a chipmunk sharing my pillow. Ick.

Anyway…after a day of chipmunk chasing, what better way to unwind than with some delicious comfort food? I’ve always been partial to mac and cheese (Kraft) with hot dogs (for real), but I’ve started to branch out a bit recently. I’ve been searching for my perfect mac and cheese recipe, and this just may be it. I discovered the recipe two weeks ago, and have made it three times since then: the first time, following the original recipe, the second- scaling down the portion size and adding some flair of my own, and then a third time, just for the hell of it. This is literally the best of all worlds. Imagine: mac and cheese, tomato soup, and a grilled cheese sandwich coming together to make a baby. This would be it. A delicious, cheesy food baby.

Creamy Tomato Mac and Cheese

photo 1

What I’m Listening to: Grey’s Anatomy, season 5

Ingredients (serves 2-3)

-1 cup of small shaped pasta (I used elbows)

-1/3 cup of low-fat ricotta

-3.5 oz of aged cheddar cheese, shredded

-1/2 can of tomato soup

-2/3 cup milk

-1 large clove (1/2 tsp) of garlic

-1/4 tsp black pepper

Preheat your oven to 350. Boil a small pot of salted water, then add the pasta. Cook for 3-4 minutes. The pasta should be starting to soften, but not cooked through. Drain the pasta and place in a large mixing bowl. Add the ricotta, soup, milk, garlic, pepper, and 2/3 of the cheese. Mix well, then pour in a greased baking dish. I used an 8×8 glass pan. Bake for 20 minutes. Remove the pan from the oven and top with the remaining cheddar. Bake for 3-5 more minutes, until the cheese is melted. Let sit for 5 minutes, then enjoy!

How are you enjoying my recipes so far? Please let me know below! And, don’t forget to “follow” me above, or check out Table for One on Facebook, Pinterest, or Instagram.

 

3 thoughts on “Creamy Tomato Mac and Cheese

  1. Pingback: Creamy Tomato Quinoa Mac and Cheese | Table for One

  2. Pingback: The Best Recipes of 2014 | Table for One

Leave a Reply

