Buffalo Chicken Chili

Hi everyone! I’m back! I’m sorry for my unannounced hiatus…last week was dance recital week, meaning I slept very little and ate a lot…of fast food. I had Panera twice in one day…I regret nothing. Anyway, I didn’t have any time at all to cook, but I more than made up for it this weekend.

This is one of my all-time favorite foods. If you’re going to make any of my recipes, make this one. You won’t regret it! I spent years searching for a good chili recipe with no luck. Too many tomatoes, not enough flavor…anyway, I stumbled across this a few years ago, and knew immediately it would be perfect. I’m obsessed with all things buffalo…obsessed. Also, as far as chili goes, it’s pretty healthy! I’ve played with this recipe the last two years, and now it’s one of my most requested dishes. I hope you’ll love this as much as I do. Because I do. So. Much.

Buffalo Chicken Chili

IMG_1707

What I’m Listening to: the “Frozen” soundtrack

Ingredients (makes 2 heaping bowls, or 3 medium bowls)

-Cooking oil of your choice (I used vegetable oil)

-1/2 yellow onion, diced

-3 cloves of garlic

-3-4 medium carrots (or 1/3 bag of baby supremes…I had them on hand)

-1 can of cannellini beans, drained

-1 lb. ground chicken

-1/2 tbsp cumin

-1 tbsp paprika

-1 cup chicken broth

-1 cup buffalo sauce

-Crackers and cheddar cheese for serving

Pour about a quarter-sized amount of oil into a large skillet and swirl to coat. Heat the skillet on medium heat. Add the onions and garlic, and cook until the onions are translucent. Add the carrots.

IMG_1686 IMG_1687 IMG_1690

Stir constantly so that the veggies don’t burn. Once the carrots begin to soften, add the can of beans and continue stirring.

IMG_1692

While the veggies cook, place the ground chicken in a separate pan and break apart with a spatula. Cook over medium high heat, stirring occasionally. Add the cumin, paprika, and chicken broth. Cook until the chicken is no longer pink.

IMG_1693

Add the chicken mixture to the vegetables and stir. Add the buffalo sauce and mix well. Bring the chili to a boil and stir. Turn the heat down to low and cover the pan. Cook for 35-40 minutes, stirring occasionally. (I try to stir every 8-9 minutes.) Serve with crackers and cheddar cheese. I’ve never tried it with blue cheese, but I’m sure it would be excellent.

IMG_1696 IMG_1701 IMG_1707 IMG_1709

Note: If you’d like your chili to have more “sauce,” you can add more broth and buffalo sauce; just keep the ratio 1:1. Enjoy!

Adapted from: Blog is the New Black

Check out “Table for One” on Facebook and Pinterest!

3 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken Chili

  1. Pingback: Cooking for Beginners: 10 Spices You Should Always Have In Your Cupboard | Table for One

  2. Pingback: Cooking for Beginners: 10 Kitchen Essentials Every Foodie Should Have | Table for One

  3. Pingback: Slow Cooker Barbecue Chicken Dip | Table for One

Leave a Reply

