Crispy Bacon and Cheese Tortelloni

I cannot even begin to tell you how difficult it’s been to stay awake today. Aside from making lasagna and a Nutella cake for dinner with two of my closest friends last night, yesterday was low key. I slept for nine hours last night, so I should have been wide awake when my alarm went off at 8:45 this morning, but I was far from it. So was my kitty, Stella, who normally jumps up right away when my alarm goes off. Today, she lifted her head, looked at the phone, and went back to sleep. When I finally managed to pull myself up, I was a zombie. I took the longest shower ever, played loud music, and cursed Starbucks for not opening a branch in my bedroom. It’s been like that all day, except much worse now, as it’s thunderstorming and I’m curled up under a blanket. Ok, ok, the blanket is my own fault. But, I fully intend to take a bath and drink some hot chocolate after I finish this post, and then I’m going to bed.

Because I’m so tired, I knew dinner needed to be easy. My original dinner plan was going to be time consuming, and seemed like too much of a commitment tonight. I started frying bacon for a second recipe, only to find out I was missing a key ingredient. (Note: always, ALWAYS make sure you have all the ingredients before beginning a recipe.) So, I decided to fly by the seat of my pants and create something on the spot. This turned out to be the perfect comfort food for a rainy, sleepy night. I mean, who doesn’t love cheese and bacon?! Plus, if you were a fan of my Spicy Sausage Penne, this has a very similar sauce.

Crispy Bacon and Cheese Tortelloni

IMG_0979

What I’m Listening to: last week’s episode of “Once Upon a Time”

Ingredients (makes 2 generous servings)

-3 strips of bacon, cut into 1/4 inch pieces

-canola oil

-12 oz package of cheese tortelloni (I used the Giovanni Rana brand from HyVee. It’s a refrigerated pasta, but I’m sure frozen would be just as good!)

-1 cup of your favorite marinara sauce

-2 oz cream cheese, softened

-1/8 cup of Kraft’s Roasted Red Pepper Italian Dressing

On a cutting board, slice the raw bacon into 1/4 inch pieces. Pour a small circle of canola oil in the middle of a small skillet, and swirl to coat. Heat the skillet over medium heat, adding the bacon. Stir occasionally, until the bacon is crisp. When done, scoop the bacon into a paper towel-lined bowl, to soak up the grease. Set aside.

IMG_0974

While the bacon cooks, cook the tortelloni according to package directions. Drain and set aside.

IMG_0975

In the same pan, heat the marinara sauce, cream cheese, and Italian dressing over medium-high heat. When hot, add the bacon to the pan and cover. Let the sauce cook for 2-3 minutes. Remove the lid and add the tortelloni. Mix to coat. Serve with cheese (I used a 6 cheese blend) and a side salad. Mmmmmm.

IMG_0976 IMG_0978

Alrighty folks, my cocoa awaits. Have a great rest of your night, and don’t forget to “follow” me above!

Leave a Reply

