Caribbean Jerk Cupcakes

Dear World,

When did my Friday nights become so…lame? Since I finished work today, I’ve gone grocery shopping, gotten my hair cut and dyed (ok, that part was fun), dusted/scrubbed/vacuumed/steamed the main and second floor of my house, changed the sheets on my guest bed, went through my closet and took out all the things I don’t wear anymore, did dishes, did 3 loads of laundry, and started wiping the hard drive on my old laptop. This. This is what my Friday nights have become. And, weirdly, I look forward to it. Is this it? Is this what getting old feels like?

The theme of this week must be “ugly” food, because I bring to you, once again, a recipe that is far from pretty. This is a fun and spicy twist on buffalo chicken cupcakes, and, to be honest, I prefer these to the originals. I can’t take full credit for these; my friend, Tyler, had the idea to sub different sauces for the buffalo sauce. They make a fantastic appetizer, or, a fun main dish, paired with fruit and veggie sides. Disclaimer: this recipe is not a product of health. But it’s so freaking delicious, you won’t even care.

Caribbean Jerk Cupcakes

IMG_0932

What I’m Listening to: “Here Comes the Sun” by The Beatles and some Florence and the Machine

Ingredients (makes 10-12 cupcakes)

-24 wonton wrappers (They are usually located by the fresh vegetables at the store.)

-8 oz. cream cheese, softened

-1 chicken breast, shredded (or if you’re feeling lazy, one large can of chicken)

-1/2 cup of Buffalo Wild Wings’ “Caribbean Jerk” sauce

-1/2 cup ranch dressing

-1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese, plus extra for topping

-cooking spray

 

Preheat the oven to 375. Spray a muffin pan with cooking spray. Place a wonton shell in each cup and press down in the middle.  In a large bowl, mix together the cream cheese, chicken, sauce, ranch, and cheese. Put a small spoonful of the mixture on top of each wonton shell. Press a second wonton on top of the first. Spoon the remaining mixture on each wonton, then top with cheddar cheese. Bake for 12-14 minutes, or until the edges are golden brown. Allow to sit for 5 minutes before removing from the pan.

IMG_0931 IMG_0933

 

Note: These reheat in the microwave pretty well. I put them in for a minute, and then add time if needed. They do lose a bit of the crisp on the edges, so if you like them to be crispy, make up the mix, and then make the cupcakes as you need them.

One thought on “Caribbean Jerk Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Buffalo Chicken Cupcakes | Table for One

Leave a Reply

