Baked Eggs in Tomato and Cream Sauce

Happy Tuesday, friends! Is it just me, or is this week already feeling long? It took me 15 minutes to pull myself out of bed this morning! Ok…that’s a lie. It was 30. 30 minutes to drag my sleepy butt out of bed. Oy vey. If only every day was Saturday… But, never fear! I have something to (hopefully) pull you and me both out of this rut, and start the rest of your week off right!

Now, let me start by saying: I am not a breakfast fan. It just bores me, and it’s not as fun as the other meals. I don’t particularly like cereal, and I don’t like enough kinds of fruit to do smoothies. But this recipe, I like. This recipe could turn me into a breakfast enthusiast! I’ve done some small tweaks to the original recipe I found; specifically, adding the herbs directly into the the sauce, rather than sprinkling on top. I think this really rounds out the flavor of the dish, but feel free to try on top as well! Warning: this recipe is not pretty, no matter how many times I make it. Don’t be turned off by the pictures. I promise it’s delicious!

Baked Eggs in Tomato and Cream Sauce

Adapted from: Fork Knife Swoon

IMG_0919

What I’m Listening to: Birds chirping (because when was the last time that happened?)

Ingredients (makes 1 serving)

-cooking spray

-8 oz tomato sauce

-1 1/2 tbsp whipping cream

-1 clove of garlic

-1/4 tsp dried oregano

-1/4 tsp dried basil

-2 eggs

-shredded parmesan cheese

-salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 400, then go make yourself busy. It takes about 5 minutes to throw all the ingredients together, and you want to make sure your oven fully preheats, or you’ll have some very runny eggs.

When your oven is ready, spray a small oven-safe bowl or casserole dish with cooking spray. Pour in the tomato sauce. Gently mix in the garlic, basil, and oregano.

IMG_0913

IMG_0914

IMG_0916

I swear by this stuff! It makes prep time go much faster and it lasts a long time.

Drizzle the whipping cream over the sauce. Crack the eggs directly into the dish.

IMG_0915  IMG_0917

At this point, I sprinkle salt and pepper over the top, then finish by adding parmesan cheese.

IMG_0918

Bake in the center of the oven for 15-20 minutes. I like my eggs to have the consistency of a hard-boiled egg, so I sometimes keep them in the oven a little longer. If you are unsure if your eggs are ready, slide a spoon under the cheese and lift. If your eggs are still runny, you’ll know! Serve with toast and a glass of orange juice. Enjoy!

IMG_0920

One more thing…you can stay up to date on all my new recipes on Facebook. Like and share with all your friends!

One thought on “Baked Eggs in Tomato and Cream Sauce

  1. Pingback: Cooking for Beginners: 10 Spices You Should Always Have In Your Cupboard | Table for One

Leave a Reply

