Pizza Night!

So, I’m aware of how crazy this is going to sound, but I love Sunday nights. Yeah, yeah, I know Sunday nights lead to Mondays, and Mondays are the absolute worst, but Sunday nights are my nights. I make something awesome for dinner, put on my PJs, snuggle my cats, watch “Once Upon a Time” and “Resurrection,” and then spend the hour after them freaking out about how good they were/being too scared to go into my basement. (Really though, what the hell is going on on “Resurrection?”)

Tonight was no exception. I put on my PJs at 5 and went into the kitchen to make one of my favorite meals, homemade pizza!

Homemade Pizza

IMG_0785

Now, the first time I made homemade pizza was about two years ago and IT. WAS. A. DISASTER. You know those Buzzfeed articles with the pictures of food gone wrong? That=my first pizza. But, since then, I’ve perfected a crust recipe I found online, and have made some other tweaks to make this homemade pizza a delicious success. The best part? The whole thing takes under an hour from start to finish. Bam.

IMG_0783

What I’m listening to: reruns of “Modern Family”

Ingredients (Makes one pizza, approximately 12 inches)

Pizza Crust

-1 packet of rapid rise yeast

-1 cup warm water

-2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

-2 tsp honey + extra for drizzling

-1 tsp salt

-2 tbsp canola oil

-1 tbsp cold water

Pizza Sauce

-28 oz can of whole tomatoes, drained

-1 tbsp canola oil

-1 1/2 tsp red wine vinegar

-3 cloves of minced garlic

-1 tsp salt

-1 tsp oregano

-1/2 tsp basil

-1/4 tsp black pepper

-Dash of red pepper flakes

Additional toppings of your choice! (I used a mixture of cheddar and mozzarella cheese, italian sausage, and turkey pepperoni.)

Preheat the oven to 425. In a large bowl, mix the yeast and warm water until the yeast is dissolved.

IMG_0776

This is the kind of yeast I use. You can find it in the spice aisle, usually by the baking soda and cornstarch.

Add the flour, honey, salt, and oil. Mix well with a wooden spoon. Drizzle the water over the top to get the dough to come together. (You may not need all the water!) Form the dough into a ball and let it relax for at least ten minutes.

IMG_0777

While the dough relaxes, put all the sauce ingredients in a blender and mix until smooth. I am extremely picky about sauces, but I love this one! Plus, it makes extra, so you can use it for dipping!

Cover a pizza pan in parchment paper. Lightly sprinkle with flour, then place the ball of dough in the center. Roll out to your desired size and thickness, sprinkling more flour on top if your rolling pin sticks to the dough.

IMG_0778

IMG_0779

If it’s not a perfect circle, who cares? Mine never are!

Put the crust in the oven for 6-7 minutes. All ovens are a little different, so keep an eye on it. The crust should just be starting to lightly brown, and should sound hollow if you knock on it. After you remove the crust from the oven, drizzle the edge with honey. Trust me, you will be glad you did! Add your sauce, and desired toppings.

IMG_0780

IMG_0781

IMG_0782

Bake for 10 minutes, or until the crust is golden brown and the cheese is melted. Don’t worry if your pizza isn’t pretty; mine rarely are, but taste so good! Cut into 8 pieces (or 4, if you like giant pizza) and enjoy!

Want to stay in the loop with what’s happening at “Table for One?” Either follow above, or check it out on Facebook!

5 thoughts on “Pizza Night!

  1. Pingback: Pine Nut and Veggie Flatbread | Table for One

  2. Pingback: The Best Recipes of 2014 | Table for One

  3. Pingback: Cooking for Beginners: 10 Kitchen Essentials Every Foodie Should Have | Table for One

Leave a Reply

