Easy Chicken Fajitas

…can you hear that? It’s the sound of birds chirping, my cats purring, and me breathing a huge sigh of relief. It’s here. Spring is finally, FINALLY here. I could not be more excited! To celebrate, I took a walk this morning. There is a huge park down the street from me that I love to walk, so I did a lap, and then did a quick lap around the lagoon at the end. It was beautiful out, and it felt great to be doing something other than sitting on the couch. Normally, I despise Mondays, but I think this one is off to a great start!

I absolutely love the recipe I am going to share with you today! Now, one of my struggles as a single person is finding the motivation to cook for just me. Like I said, I LOVE cooking, but when it’s rainy out and I’m in my sweats and the “Modern Family” marathon on USA is calling my name, it seems much easier to order a pizza and call it a night. Right? Right. But this recipe is almost as easy…and you don’t have to tip anyone! Score! And, you can recreate the atmosphere of a Mexican restaurant with chips and salsa on your table, and a margarita or four.

Easy Chicken Fajitas

IMG_0734

What I’m listening to: Sara Bareille’s “Little Voice” album

Ingredients (Makes 2 servings)

-2 medium sized chicken breasts (I had chicken strips on hand, so I cut up 5)

-2 tbsp cooking oil of your choice

-1/2 tsp chili powder

-1/2 tsp oregano

-Dash of garlic powder, red pepper flakes

-1/2 a red pepper, sliced

-1/2 a yellow pepper, sliced

-1/2 an onion, sliced

-8 fajita-sized tortillas

-Optional: shredded cheese, sour cream, salsa, guacamole

Place the cooking oil in a skillet and heat on high. It’s going to seem like you have too much oil, but trust me, you don’t! While the oil warms, rinse your chicken and cut into bite-sized pieces. Place the chicken in the skillet. Sprinkle the seasonings evenly over the chicken, and stir to coat.

IMG_0727

IMG_0728

Reduce heat to medium high, and stir occasionally. On a clean cutting board, slice up the onion and peppers. Once the chicken is completely cooked on the outside, add the onion and peppers to the pan. Stir well. Set a timer for three minutes and let the mixture sit. (This will give you time to clean up!)

IMG_0729

IMG_0730

IMG_0731

When the timer goes off, check to make sure the vegetables are cooked to your liking. I like mine to have a little crunch, so three minutes is perfect. If you’d like softer vegetables, cook a few minutes longer. Heat the tortillas in the microwave for 15-30 seconds. Spoon the fajita mixture onto the tortillas and top with your favorite toppings. Serve with chips and salsa.

IMG_0738

IMG_0735

Depending on how full you fill your tortillas, this can make between 6-8 fajitas. If I’m making it just for me, I can make it work for 2-3 meals, depending on how hungry I am. I’ve also made this for dinner for friends, and split three ways, it was plenty. Yum.

Well, have a great night, everyone! Let me know what you think of this recipe and don’t forget to share with your friends!

One thought on “Easy Chicken Fajitas

  1. Pingback: Cooking for Beginners: 10 Spices You Should Always Have In Your Cupboard | Table for One

Leave a Reply

