Welcome to the Table

Hi! I’m Steph, and I love to eat and cook…but mostly, eat. That’s me, over on the left. By day, I am a tap, jazz, and hip hop teacher in the Quad Cities, teaching 15 classes a week for dancers ages 8-18. I also do freelance choreography for one of the local high schools and recently, choreographed a musical for my alma mater. By night, I am a cat mom (yup) and a cooking junkie. I have loved to cook for as long as I can remember. I have vivid memories of detailing my cooking escapades in my diary: making macaroni and cheese (from a box, of course) and helping my dad bake his famous chocolate chip cookies. As I’ve gotten older, cooking has become a stress reliever for me, and one of my favorite parts of my day. I love pouring over cooking blogs in my spare time and experimenting with recipes of my own. My only beef with cooking? (Pun intended.) The lack of recipes for single people! Sure, I love eating a 12 serving chicken pot pie as much as the next guy, but I’m not a fan of leftovers, and I like variety in my meals. So, that’s why I’m here. To save the single people from a life of Hot Pockets and cereal…or a week of eating the same thing. Now, I have a few “rules” before I begin… 1. This blog is a happy place. If you have something negative to say, take it somewhere else. Or better yet, please keep it to yourself. 2. While a good portion of these recipes will be healthy and nutritious, not every one will be, and that’s ok. I am a firm believer that food is meant to be enjoyed, and I want to enjoy as much as I can. 3. Whether you’re a pro at cooking, or have never set foot in a kitchen, you can make these recipes. If you have trouble, ask me for help! It’s what I’m here for. 4. You need noise while you’re cooking. For me, I like music. I know my mom usually has the TV on when she cooks. Find what works for you. 5. Always have a back up plan. Sometimes, a recipe is just going to suck, and it’s better to have a frozen pizza in the freezer, or the Chinese place down the street on speed dial. 6. Lastly, and most importantly, have fun! I hope you’ll find these recipes as enjoyable as I do!   Well, without further ado, let the recipes begin!

Leave a Reply

